YA Dark Urban Fantasy Author

Evalene’s Number by Bethany Atazadeh

Published September 15, 2018 in Book Reviews - 0 Comments

Synopsis:

Everyone in Eden is assigned a Number, tattooed on their neck, which determines their value and place in the world.

On her Numbering Day, Evalene Vandereth anticipates joining the élite. Born in an upper-class family, she knows exactly who she is and what she is worth. Even as the needle breaks her skin, she is blissfully happy. She never considers another outcome, until it’s too late.

Now 18-year-old Evalene lives in fear, struggling with her new identity, stripped of her freedom and basic human rights. Can she escape her Number? Is anyone else asking the same question?

Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will love Evalene’s Number and its incredible dystopian tale by Amazon bestselling author Bethany Atazadeh.

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Five Stars

I thought this book would be good, thanks to the countless positive remarks I read across social media, but I didn’t foresee it being this awesome. Evalene’s Number was such a fun read and was certainly a great debut novel for Bethany.

Bethany did an amazing job helping the reader connect personally with each character. The book is written in third-person, but the way she wrote it isn’t entirely omniscient as each chapter tends to focus on the emotions of one specific character. Obviously, Evalene was the main focal point, showing her thoughts and emotions, but other chapters focused on characters around her and made for an interesting “outside looking in” kind of perspective.

I really appreciated the way Bethany wrote God into the storyline. I am Christian myself, but when reading Christian Fiction, I don’t want the presence of the religious aspect to be shoved down my throat all the time, and Evalene’s Number definitely doesn’t do that. It wasn’t quite as subtle as say, The Chronicles of Narnia with it’s many metaphors, but it definitely had parallels and hints towards Christianity, and the loving and peaceful God that the protagonists have faith in, could be interpreted differently by different people, which would make this book enjoyable whether you’re Christian or not.

The dystopian world that Bethany creates will pull you in from the beginning. The book starts with us knowing little about what’s happening, but as we follow Evalene and see her grow, we also see more of Eden. And the flaws of the Numbering system become apparent as Evalene comes to realize the flaws as well. So even though the book is written in third-person, we end up seeing the world through Evalene’s eyes as her thoughts and opinions change.

Evalene’s Number definitely kept me on the edge of my seat as I found myself gripping my chest during suspenseful scenes and goosebumps rising on my skin during dramatic climaxes. I would definitely recommend Evalene’s Number to lovers of YA fantasy and dystopian novels, and my five-star review is certainly reflective of that.

I can’t wait to read the sequel, Pearl’s Number, in November and watch Evalene continue to grow in knowledge, strength, and faith, as a new adventure unfolds before her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply: